I don’t look at train wrecks.

I’ve never actually seen a train wreck, but I’ve seen some bad accidents, and I can stop stop myself from staring. I don’t like to watch gruesome things in a movie, in fact everyone who went to see the 2000 re-release of The Exorcist with me knows I saw more of my neighbor’s shoulder than the film.

So tell me why can’t I stop watching television?!?! We have Netflix and therefore watch instantly, and therefore access to non-stop television shows. Including Cagney and Lacey, yes, that, but at least its not Everybody Loves Raymond.

The point is, I want to stop my brain from slowly leaking out of my skull. And in an effort to do so I’m making assignments for myself. Every week I will try to post an edifying and hopefully entertaining brief summary of something relating to art history.

Because I am a fan of analogies (and analogies make your brain wrinkle), I will want to relate these lessons to characters, animals, shapes, spare tires . . . something.

That remains to be seen. In the meantime, if anyone has suggestions for embodiments or requests for subject matter let me know.

oh, maybe cookies, I like those

~ by The Great and Powerful RB on January 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
