Art, I don’t know if I ought to . . .

I know I can’t be anything but an artist no matter what I do. But just when I think of throwing in the towel anyway, a friend sends me something, in this case a youtube video, that pulls me back. Thanks Linka, I could be saving lives in Uganda but instead I have a different purpose.

Making art isn’t the problem, and the sense of purpose isn’t really either. The issue is money and money as a gauge of value. Not many people with money will value artwork from someone unknown. I and I don’t know if I have the patience or the ego to make no money while I make a name for myself. Well that’s not true. I know I don’t. So I’m inclined as of late to make a lot of money and value my own work, and the work of others. That’s the real reason I became a truck driver; solitude, travel, freedom, and money. In the words of Lazlo Hollyfeld from Real Genius “Lately I’ve come to realize that I have certain materialistic needs.”

~ by The Great and Powerful RB on November 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
